top of page

Blog. Post.

Search
  • Writer's pictureMadeleine Yates

MY DENTAL JOURNEY - COLGATE SENSITIVE PRO RELIEF TREATMENT

Smile! Did you know that your teeth are one of the first things people notice about you? I’ve always considered myself to be rather lucky when it comes to my current dental journey. As a young girl at school, I was one of the fortunate teens whose frequent trips to the dentist consisted of nothing more than a regular routine check-up and clean.


Don’t get me wrong, my teeth have never ‘perfect’, as my bottom row of teeth are ever so slightly crooked and they have been for as long as I can remember. But surprisingly enough, this didn’t bother me growing up because the top row of my smile was (and still remains) straight. According to my dentist, all of my teeth are healthy and that’s all I needed to hear at each check-up.

In more recent years (around the time I turned 20), certain changes have been brought to my attention through discomfort and sensitivity I’ve experienced. Now, this is not an issue which is abnormal, in fact it’s far from it, as most people will suffer with sensitive teeth at some point during their lives. In fact, as many as 18.6 million people across the UK suffer from sensitive teeth, so it’s more common than I first realised that is for sure.


Nonetheless, the sensation of sensitivity seemed to come from thin air and have since turned into a frequent occurrence. Naturally, this change started me thinking and I just couldn’t understand why I had begun to experience such discomfort.

My routine over the years has not budged in the slightest, which is why these issues came with such confusion. I brush my teeth twice a day every day. Both mouthwash and whitening products are used frequently within my dental hygiene routine and I visit the dentist regularly for check-ups. I also avoid the consumption of overly sugary foods on a regular basis and when I do indulge in the odd sugary treat, I remember to brush extra hard across those areas which are prone to sensitivity. So, I decided to ask my dentist for advice and from our conversation, I discovered that my teeth have been going through a natural process called ‘tooth shifting’.

Tooth shifting is the subtle movement which can occur to the tooth structure in your mouth over a period of time. Typically, shifting is process which is more likely to happen as we age and it is a well known fact amongst dentists/ orthodontists that teeth naturally move and shift positions throughout a lifetime. This may surprise you, but shifting can happen to anyone at any given time, regardless of previous teeth straightening treatments. So, even though I’ve followed the advice of my dentist as closely as possible over the years and have received his assurance that my pearly whites are healthy on countless occasions, it would seem that it is normal for teeth to shift, which was the trigger to my newly born sensitivity.

Following our conversation, my dentist recommended the use of Colgate Sensitive Pro Relief as a treatment for the discomfort that I had been experiencing. I was given a handful of Colgate Sensitive Pro Relief toothpaste of sample size and they took me through the next few weeks that followed. Since this time, I have tried and tested a number of dental products on the market which claim to ease discomfort and tenderness caused from worn down enamel/ generic issues which require instant and lasting relief. Due to the number of products I have tested, I can claim fairly that this product has helped more than any of the other products put together!


COLGATE SENSITIVE PRO RELIEF TOOTHPASTE


Introducing Colgate Sensitive Pro Relief toothpaste. The treatment well acclaimed for its ability to swiftly ease pain and discomfort with regular use. So, how does this little tube work?

Well, I have discovered that most ‘sensitive’ acclaimed products on the market primarily numb the pain, but do not work long-term to abolish the issue. Secondly, Colgate Sensitive Pro Relief toothpaste instantly seals the channels which lead directly to the sensitive nerves within every single affected tooth, which inevitably blocks the pain.


Thirdly, with long-term use comes a long-term solution. As Colgate Sensitive Pro Relief’s formula begins to provide a fixed barrier for your teeth, the discomfort of sensitivity can be abolished. Plus, this product is recommended and used by dentists, due to its technology. So, that has to count for something right?

DIRECTIONS FOR USE

For instant relief, apply a pea sized amount of the product directly to the affected area(s) with your finger tip, and massage in to the centre of the sensitive tooth/teeth gently, up to twice a day. Leave the product on for around one minute to promote long-lasting protection.

For children aged between 6-12 years, use once a week or less frequently. For lasting relief, apply to a gentle toothbrush making sure to brush all the sensitive areas in your mouth. Regular use of this product and technique alongside brushing will help to fight; cavities, plaque and stains as well as working to strengthen the enamel of the teeth around your mouth. Breath is also kept fresh throughout the day as you would expect from any given toothpaste nowadays.

MY EXPERIENCE

Since re-discovering Colgate Sensitive Pro Relief toothpaste as a treatment for my sensitivity, I have been reminded of its impressive characteristics for such a small (yet painful) problem. The sensitivity levels in my mouth have most defiantly reduced significantly and the task of eating foods which once irritated my problematic areas has become much more pleasant!


I can confidently continue to use this product religiously, knowing that I am doing the best thing for my dental requirements. From my own personal experience, I would go as far to say that Colgate Sensitive Pro Relief toothpaste surpasses any other product on the market and I would highly recommend it to anyone who suffers with sensitivity and thinks that they have to put up with it because there is nothing more they can do, because there is!

Disclaimer - This product was gifted by Colgate, but all views are my own.

Have you tried

or any other dental hygiene products by Colgate before? What are your thoughts on this brand and their products?

Get in touch with me on Instagram @missperfectfashion_and_beauty_ or on Facebook @missperfectfashionandbeautysblog and start a conversation!


 
 

*This post is in partnership with Colgate

bottom of page